21 July 2017
This article has been read 24,096 times.

G.V. Blacks Classification

G.V. Blacks Classification

G. V. Blacks classification put carious lesions into 5 categories based on the affected tooth surfaces.

This system was described over 100 years ago and has since been deemed incomplete as it does not encompass root caries and secondary caries. It does, however, remain widely used in dental teaching and even if you don’t use it yourself will be useful as many dentists still use this classification as clinical shorthand!

The Black’s Classification is as follows.

  • Class I: Caries affecting pits and fissures.
  • Class II: Caries affecting interproximal areas of posterior teeth.
  • Class III: Caries affecting interproximal areas of anterior teeth.
  • Class IV: Caries affecting the interproximal areas of anterior teeth that also incorporate the incisal tip/edge.
  • Class V: Caries affecting cervical smooth surfaces.